A TIME I FELT UNSAFE

Have you ever hered of the saying”there is a right way and there is a wrong way and then there is so and so way”. Well I use to work for him.                                                                                                               A while back I worked for an elderly couple not far from where I live.I was there one day digging up a water pipe to fix a leak. The ground was hard clay and it took me most of the afternoon. When I got down to the pipe I found three pipes side by side. All three where the same size and color plastic pipes. Now I had never seen any faucet other than the one that the pipe I was working on in that area at all. The bells should of gone off then. But I was tiered and getting ready to stop for the day. On the way out I stopped and asked Helen about it and she did not have a clue where these pipes went. She was going to ask Mick when he got home and so I left.

Well it rained the next day and so I did not go back until the following day. Helen was waiting for me on the porch. She did not look to happy and I had no clue what was going on. Apparently her husband Mick when they remodeled the house years before had saved a bunch of money by buying PVC pipe. Now he had used that pipe for all the different things that needed to be piped and some things that really shouldn’t. She did not know exactly which one was which, (of coarse there was no way of telling) but one of those pipes held the propane gas going to the house , one of coarse was water and the third one was the underground electricity line.

It took awhile to sink in what she was saying, but when it did it hit me like a ton of bricks. The what ifs started going around in my mine. Of coarse Helen had made arrangements to fix it all the right way and Mick was not happy about it. They had to have a couple of licensed electricians mess with the electrical wire and the propane company sent people out. It got interesting for awhile . I went back home that day still thinking about the what ifs.

There is one bright side about working for them and it was it was never dull. A few more near misses like that and Helen forbid Mick to do any more home improvements and I got to work in their garden and around the pond. I was very happy and Helen was still alive. But that was a time I really felt unsafe.

About morningsinger3

I have been writing since I was in high school. My favorite forms of writing are ,horror, historical and fantasy fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

