dailyprompt/memories of holidays past

I can think of two past holidays where special memories were made. Both of them when my children were little and all three of them were alive.It was a Christmas morning probably 25to 28 years ago. We had just moved into one of the original homestead houses on a large ranch. The people who had homesteaded the property had been smart enough to homestead in one county and then when the land was theirs gone over the creek and homesteaded in the other county. Today 6 generations later they still have their land and actual water rites to that creek.

The oldest of the family was a 80 year old lady she decided that she liked me and my children and offered to rent the old homestead house and about 5 acres of the ranch to us. Any way it was christmas morning and we were invited down to the ponds on the ranch. I spent that morning watching my three children who where very small play Ice Hockey with the ladies grandsons. They tied pillows around my childrens bottoms.There were branches from an old oak tree that were used and a chunk of ice cut from the pond. It went on until all the players could not stand and walk. But I will never forget that christmas morning or how much fun we all had.

About morningsinger3

I have been writing since I was in high school. My favorite forms of writing are ,horror, historical and fantasy fiction.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

