The Great Gnome Race part 1

The second race was held a few days later. Each garden gnome had trained a mouse to ride in the race. As I looked at the group of mice it occurred to me that there were five different types of mice here. I walked over and sat down near where the mice had been tied up. I needed to get a better look at them.

The one closest to me and another mouse two down seemed to be the same type of mouse but upon further inspection I saw there were differences. While the one nearest me was a light silver color with a white belly , the one farther down seemed a shade or two darker.I ventured to guess that these two mice were house mice.

The mouse second from me was a black and white spotted mouse. It did not take much thinking to realize this was a domestic mouse who’s ansesters probably came from a pet store. Some child’s parents had probably dumped them out in the garden to get rid of them and a garden gnome found them and kept them breeding them for racing mice.

Fourth, fifth and sixth mice down were the ordinary brown barn mice that one usually found trapped in the bottom of the feed bucket. They were busy testing their leads and trying to scratch there muzzles off. One of the rules of the race was all mice had to be securely muzzled. Mice could be very dangerous animals. They fought amongst themselves on a regular basis and could kill and eat a gnome before anything could be done to stop them.

Farther down the line I saw an albino mouse. His owner had made a pair of sunglasses for him because his eyes were very sensitive to light. When night came the owner would remove them. That mouse was well adapted to run night races i thought as I looked the other mice over.

At the very end of the line were three black mice. They seemed to be larger than the others. These had to be the cave mice I had heard about , but never seen. They were suppose to be the hardest to catch and train. It would be interesting to see how they did in this race.

 

About morningsinger3

I have been writing since I was in high school. My favorite forms of writing are ,horror, historical and fantasy fiction.
This entry was posted in childrens story, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

